5 thoughts on “More pics of Hut 2.0, and veggies!

  1. Hi Ryo,

    I first saw your site on “Tiny House” and the title caught my interest, so over a few days I’ve read all of your site. We have much in common, but I’m a good bit older. I am not a “gun nut” but own 15 and appreciate them as useful tools and occasional fun recreational objects.

    Your gardening efforts might be helped if you could secure a book called “Square Foot Gardening” by Mel Barthalomew (sp?) I’d check the used book sites as it’s older but very good (and cheap) and right on the subject of elevated beds and very easy gardening efforts. Maybe also check a local library for a freebie.

    I own a 14′x24′ one room cabin on 1/4 acre government land in the Angeles National Forest. I’ve got a stream in the front yard but the government part is a PITA. Never again…next time fee simple, all mine and a bit remote. I have electricity but not running water, septic, TV and by choice, not phone (no cell available – deep canyon). There’s limited AM radio. There’s an outhouse for comfort, and I run a solar heated shower most of the year…thereafter I have to heat the water but it is very invigorating. It’s 12v and effortless.

    I like watching the evolution of your cabin…are you going to use a house wrap – like Tyvek? Really cuts down on air infilltration. I also like running a camp type propane system as it has a take-off point for a light, stove and log lighter. Could aslo be expanded to include a refridgerator.

    This is getting long so if you want feel free to hit me back off-group and we’ll share more.

    Good luck!!

  2. Re gardening books I would suggest Gardening When It Counts: Growing Food in Hard Times by S. Solomon. He is all for low water and other inputs.

Leave a Reply

